National headline writing competition – ACES awards

I am proud to list these members of my Statesman staff  as honorees in the American Copy Editors Society’s headline contest. Each individual submitted a list of headlines to me and I chose the best to submit for ACES and other contests.

2001 Nicole Villalpando – honorable mention
2002 Sarah Lindner – honorable mention
2003 Sarah Lindner – honorable mention
2004 Nicole Villalpando – award of excellence (honorable mention)
2007 Panfilo “Ponch” Garcia – award of excellence (honorable mention)
2008 Monica Cardenas – first place
2010 Chris Hanna – first place